Torrential Downpour Made for an Exciting Race at Budds Creek
Andrew Yenerich battles the element as torrential rain pours down the race course at the Monster Energy Motocross National at Budds Creek MX Park in Mechanicsville, MD on Saturday, August 22, 2009. Alan P. Santos/DC Sports Box
MECHANICSVILLE, MD - The beauty of Budds Creek racecourse located in Mechanicsville, Maryland is that it is always a fun and thrilling event for fans and racers alike.
On August 22nd it was a chance to catch a glimpse of motocross racing during the extreme elements of nature that provided this year’s event.  The light drizzle and overcast clouds along with overnight rain initially provided the racers with a very technical racecourse, which included deep ruts and mud bogs.
The bucketing rains would hold off initially but by late afternoon the Budds Creek course looked more like a multitude of converging streams than a racecourse, which put the racers to the extreme in testing their excellent riding skills. Lightning streaked the ominous sky but to the fan’s delight the race was on even as the torrential downpour fell on the racecourse.
The monsoon-like weather, however, didn't dampen the spirit of the steadfast and dedicated fans as they cheered the hardcore racers until a decision was finally made by the race official to stop the race.
Jake Weimer took first in the 250-class making this his third win of the season for the Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider. Weimer (2,1) was impressive as he battled with Christopher Pourcel (1,3) for the final overall points to win at Budds Creek. Ryan Dungey (3,4) took third for team Rockstar Makita Suzuki. Christopher Pourcel and Ryan Dungey atop the leader board and will be battling for the top overall spot in the 250 class.    
Chad Reed from Team Rockstar/Makita Suzuki took first in the 450-class taking his fifth win of the season and thus claiming his first AMA Pro Motocross Championship. From the start race he rode strong enough to pull off a moto (2-1) in taking the championship win.  He slipped past Ivan Tedesco in Moto 2 and was able to stay ahead of the group.  His timing seems right this racing season.  After claiming the podium finish, Reed thanked Team Rockstar Makita Suzuki for all their hard work and support. Following Chad's overall finish, David Millings (1-6) raced for second and Ivan Tedesco (5-3) followed in third giving Honda Red Bull Racing a very strong finish in round 10 of the AMA Pro Motocross National.
The Monster Energy Triple Crown Finale (Round 10) presented by FMF at Budds Creek was the place to be even as the surly weather came down the racecourse. Budds Creek is a track known for attracting riders from around the world, hosting events on weekends and providing superb riding. Jonathan Beasley, owner of Budds Creek, is the force behind the success of motorcross in southern Maryland and was excited to have NBC Sports provide live coverage at this year’s event. It will definitely be the motocross-racing destination next year with or without the rain!
The AMA Pro National Motocross will conclude with two more races this year at Southwick Moto-X338 in Southwick, Massachusetts on August 29th and Steel City Raceway in Delmont, Pennsylvania. Both events will also feature the women's motocross rounds 7 and 8.  
Ride fast, fly high, ride on.  
450 Class (Moto Finish)

Chad Reed, Australia, Suzuki (2-1)
Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda (1-6)
Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda (5-3)
Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Yamaha (4-4)
Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki (12-2)
Michael Byrne, Australia, Suzuki (6-5)
Timmy Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki (9-8)
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (7-10)
Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., Yamaha (3-27)
Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Yamaha (11-12)
450 Class Championship Standings
Chad Reed, Australia, Suzuki, 434
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 330
Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 322
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 280
Michael Byrne, Australia, Suzuki, 276
Thomas Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki, 229
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 201
Cody Cooper, New Zealand, Yamaha, 176
Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Yamaha, 176
Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Yamaha, 150
250 Class (Moto Finish)
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (2-1)
Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki (1-3)
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (3-4)
Justin Barcia, Cairo, Ga., Honda (4-7)
Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Kawasaki (8-6)
Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (18-2)
Matt Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Yamaha (14-5)
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., KTM (11-9)
PJ Larsen, Stanley, N.C., Kawasaki (10-10)
Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (6-15)
250 Class Championship Standings
Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 432
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 419
Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 312
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 302
Tommy Searle, Great Britain, KTM, 282
Justin Barcia, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 267
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 242
Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 214
Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 196
Kyle Cunningham, Ft. Worth, Texas, Kawasaki, 174